Should I be embarrassed about coming to this so late in the game?

For whatever reason, I’ve never really listened to David Bowie until recently. It’s not that I’ve never gotten into his work, it’s that I don’t feel like I ever got the chance. I spent high school listening to the classic rock stations out of Dallas and got a good fill of the Beatles, the Stones, Zeppelin, the Who, Skynyrd, Queen, Cream, etc., but I rarely heard Bowie.

He always seemed to me to be a generational thing. Jon Stewart, Ricky Gervais, and the Flight of the Conchords mention him a bit and are all somewhat older than my friends’ older brothers (though I may be wrong about the Conchords) so I’ve kind of thought that was the issue.

But I’ve been going through some of his albums on Spotify (an almost insanely fantastic program only available in Europe) recently and they are really really good. I can’t figure out why he never made it on Q102. Rarely, it seemed, I caught a little Space Oddity, but The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars sounds like a revelation to me. Hunky Dory’s also excellent.

What have I been missing all these years? Bowie would emerge in the 80’s to do some unexceptional things, like cover Dancin’ in the Streets, but that is really too bad. I’m almost a little depressed it took me so long. And now I’m too poor to buy albums so I may have to get a few for Christmas. Until then, I’ll settle for Spotify, which is awesome in its own right.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

