A weird year for movie titles?

I don’t see many movies the year they come out so I can’t say much about the great ones that came out this past year. What I saw that I liked: In the Loop; Inglourious Basterds; and, to a lesser extent Up, The Hangover and (500) Days of Summer, the last of which seems to come up more than any movie I’ve ever watched when discussing romance, boyfriends, girlfriends, etc. with friends. I’m sure there are other movies out there like it, but I can’t think of any. I enjoyed Adventureland, too, but not as much. (Incidentally, I saw three of those movies on airplanes, which tells you something about my moviegoing habits.)

So I can’t say much about the great movies of the past year other than I think that Up wasn’t as good as everyone led me to believe. I thought that Wall-E was better I think I like The Incredibles more, as well. What I have noticed is the year in movie titles. Below the jump is a list of what I’m talking about:

Up

Up in the Air

A Serious Man

A Single Man

9

Nine

Summer Hours

(500) Days of Summer

Adventureland

Zombieland

Am I wrong or does this seem like a high number of similarly titled films. I’ve repeatedly seen the first four of these titles in best of lists, so maybe there was some marketing involved–along the lines of why so many expansion teams in the early 90s chose some version of teal as their team colors (sharks, hornets, magic, jaguars, panthers…)

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

